Off the Beaten Track

I must admit Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller would not be my usual fare but it was recommended to me so I picked up a copy. It was at once infuriating- he has terribly self-consciously hip style of writing; puzzling- at times he left me wondering what exactly he viewed as the essence of the Christian faith; funny- the Don Rabbit and Sexy Carrot cartoon is worth the entrance fee alone; and insightful- both in terms of the Christian faith and (post) modern culture. If you read it you will no doubt enjoy it. But it requires some discernment with regard to Don’s message. I suspect we learn more about Don Miller from the book than we do about the Christian faith.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Off the Beaten Track”

  1. Donny Says:

    As a fellow Donald Miller fan (if you’ve become one – can’t really tell by this blog entry), you might wanna check this out:

    http://donnysramblings.com/2007/06/24/donald-miller-is-on-flickr/

    Cool? I think so.

  2. sibbesian Says:

    Thanks Donny for the link. I can’t say I am a fan. He has some interesting things to say but a few others that leave me scratching my head. Maybe the link will help.

Leave a Reply

